top of page
Image by Brianna R.

Russell Group of Universities

The Russell Group represent 24 research intensive UK universities who have a shared commitment and focus to research and outstanding teaching and learning experiences. The group was originally founded in 1994 and you'll find them all at the top of the UK rankings, as well as some global league tables. The main reason for getting together was to petition the government to make decisions in the interests of member universities on issues such as funding and research. The group got its name from the Russell Hotel in London, where they used to meet. These universities believe people and ideas are the key to meeting global challenges. Through world-class research and education they are helping to create a dynamic economy, stronger communities and a better future for the UK. 


Russell Group universities have huge social, economic and cultural impacts locally, across the UK and around the globe.They produce more than two-thirds of the world-leading research produced in UK universities and support more than 260,000 jobs across the country.


List of Russell Group Universities


 There are currently 24 universities within the Russell Group: -


   1.  University of Birmingham‎

   2. University of Bristol

   3. University of Cambridge 

   4. Cardiff University

   5. Durham University

   6. University of Edinburgh

   7. University of Exeter

   8. University of Glasgow

   9. Imperial College London

  10. King's College London

  11. University of Leeds

  12. University of Liverpool

  13. London School of Economics & Political Science

  14. University of Manchester

  15. Newcastle University

   16. University of Nottingham

  17. University of Oxford

  18. Queen Mary, University of London

  19. Queen's University Belfast

  20. University of Sheffield

  21. University of Southampton

  22. University College London

  2 3. University of Warwick

  24. University of York


bottom of page